• bald_eagle_new.png
  • bison.png
  • deer.png
  • land.png


Biologist of the Year

The Native American Fish & Wildlife Society recognizes tribal biologists that are working with a Native American tribe, and who are in good standing and best exemplify his/her dedication and hard work. Nominations are accepted each year for the Biologist of the Year and these persons are recognized during the NAFWS National Conference.

Since 1999, tribal biologists who have been awarded as Biologist of the Year are:

1999 – Patricia Heemsah, Yakama Nation
2001 – David Johnson, Department of Fisheries Resources Management, Nez Perce Tribe
2002 – Shaun Grassel, Lower Brule Sioux, Department of Wildlife, Fish and Recreation
2003 – Larry Schwarzkopf, Fond du Lac Tribe Natural Resources
2004 – Diane Mann-Klager, Bureau of Indian Affairs, NEPA, Aberdeen Area
2006 –Lawrence Abeita, Southern Pueblos Agency, Isleta Tribal Member
2008 – Gene Shippentower, Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation
2009 – David Wolf, Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation
2011 – Krista Beazley, White Mountain Apache Tribe Wolf Program
2012 – Kristin Peet, Big Game Biologist, Penobscot Indian Nation


Who's Online

We have 83 guests and no members online