• bald_eagle_new.png
  • bison.png
  • deer.png
  • land.png

FindUsFacebook

  • Home
  • Events
  • Other Events

[Webinar] Snowpack to River Flow Model Evaluation & Snowpack Modeling Sep. 25, 2017

TIME: 1:00 PM Pacific / 2:00 PM Mountain / 3:00 PM Central / 4:00 PM Eastern

The Rio Grande River is a critical source of freshwater for 13 million people in Colorado, Texas, New Mexico, and Mexico. More than half of the Rio Grande’s streamflow originates as snowmelt in Colorado’s mountains, and changes in the amount of snowmelt can impact the water supply for communities along the entire river.

In this webinar, Dr. David Clow (USGS Colorado Water Science Center) and Dr. David Gutzler (University of New Mexico) will discuss SC CSC supported research on the role of snowpack on water quality and quantity in the Rio Grande Basin. Dr. Clow will share progress on improving runoff forecast models for the upper Rio Grande. Dr. Gutlzer will demonstrate how his project combines historical data and climate model projections to assess and enhance seasonal prediction models relating winter snowpack to subsequent runoff in the upper Rio Grande. Both projects will ultimately provide water managers will decision-making tools to improve water quantity and quality in the Rio Grande Basin.

Continue Reading

Print Email

Great Basin LCC 2017 Webinar Series

The Great Basin LCC annual webinar series provides an opportunity for land managers and scientists working in the Great Basin to discuss their latest research and how to incorporate the research into on-the-ground efforts. Each webinar includes a 30 minute overview of a project, followed by a discussion of how the work can be applied and possible collaborations. MORE INFORMATION...

Print Email

  • 1
  • 2

Who's Online

We have 34 guests and no members online