• bald_eagle_new.png
  • bison.png
  • deer.png
  • land.png

FindUsFacebook

[Webinar] Snowpack to River Flow Model Evaluation & Snowpack Modeling Sep. 25, 2017

TIME: 1:00 PM Pacific / 2:00 PM Mountain / 3:00 PM Central / 4:00 PM Eastern

The Rio Grande River is a critical source of freshwater for 13 million people in Colorado, Texas, New Mexico, and Mexico. More than half of the Rio Grande’s streamflow originates as snowmelt in Colorado’s mountains, and changes in the amount of snowmelt can impact the water supply for communities along the entire river.

In this webinar, Dr. David Clow (USGS Colorado Water Science Center) and Dr. David Gutzler (University of New Mexico) will discuss SC CSC supported research on the role of snowpack on water quality and quantity in the Rio Grande Basin. Dr. Clow will share progress on improving runoff forecast models for the upper Rio Grande. Dr. Gutlzer will demonstrate how his project combines historical data and climate model projections to assess and enhance seasonal prediction models relating winter snowpack to subsequent runoff in the upper Rio Grande. Both projects will ultimately provide water managers will decision-making tools to improve water quantity and quality in the Rio Grande Basin.

Continue Reading

Print Email

Who's Online

We have 89 guests and no members online

Activity

There are no activities at this moment